Books You May Love!

Staff Pick Badge
Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book III: Lesser Evil) (Star Wars: The Ascendancy Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780593158326
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - November 16th, 2021

ON SALE NOW ! TIMOTHY ZAHN'S STAR WARS: THRAWN ASCENDANCY (BOOK 3 : Lesser Evil) !!

Timothy Zahn's 3rd Book for his Newest Series is NOW AVAILABLE FOR ORDERING. As always, we will have signed store copies available once published, but when sold out we can have him sign copies that we get back in. You may also have Mr. Zahn inscribe your book with a personal inscription at his discretion. We have many of his other titles available to order as well. Please call the store if you have any questions. You may order by phone or order here on our website. We are open daily from 10:00am to 5:00pm PST.

The fate of the Chiss Ascendancy hangs in the balance in the epic finale of the Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy trilogy from bestselling author Timothy Zahn.

 

For thousands of years the Chiss Ascendancy has been an island of calm, a center of power, and a beacon of integrity. It is led by the Nine Ruling Families, whose leadership stands as a bulwark of stability against the Chaos of the Unknown Regions.

 

But that stability has been eroded by a cunning foe who winnows away trust and loyalty in equal measure. Bonds of fidelity have given way to lines of division among the families. Despite the efforts of the Expansionary Defense Fleet, the Ascendancy slips closer and closer to civil war.

 

The Chiss are no strangers to war. Their mythic status in the Chaos was earned through conflict and terrible deeds, some long buried. Until now. To ensure the Ascendancy's future, Thrawn will delve deep into its past, uncovering the dark secrets surrounding the ascension of the First Ruling Family. But the truth of a family's legacy is only as strong as the legend that supports it. Even if that legend turns out to be a lie.

 

To secure the salvation of the Ascendancy, is Thrawn willing to sacrifice everything? Including the only home he has ever known?


Staff Pick Badge
We Begin at the End Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250759665
Availability: Out of Stock. Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - March 2nd, 2021

We Begin at the End by Chris Whitaker is a marvel, beautifully written and tragic. Duchess is a great Narrator. Tough and Thorny - Full of Rough edges. She had me rooting for her from the start. She never wavered in her outlaw status or the defense of her family. 

Reading through layers of this book to its heart wrenching finale, leaves me with the feeling that this book needs to become a classic that is read by everyone. I highly recommend. - Christine J.


Adventures of the Soul: Journeys Through the Physical and Spiritual Dimensions Cover Image
Out of Stock - email or call for price 541-347-4111
ISBN: 9781401944704
Availability: Out of Print - Not Available to Special Order
Published: Hay House, Inc. - September 9th, 2014

Van Praagh's newest book is concise, easy to follow reminder of all we have read over the years about our spirituality and God.  Fans of "Course In Miracles" and "Course In Love" will find it says the same thing in a much simpler way.  I loved it ...very helpful!

Debby


Staff Pick Badge
The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492623441
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - January 19th, 2016

The Readers of Broken Wheel

by Katarina Bivald

I picked up this book intending to read just a few pages. It's description intrigued me!  A correspondence between two book lovers, a small town setting, quirky characters and a dilemma of epic proportions. Well, nearly 400 pages and four hours later I had read every word of it.  I never put the book down, even to drag my sleeve over the tears sliding down my face.  this gem is full of heart and humor, wit and some really good good recommendations.  I laughed, I cried, I fell in love with Sara, Amy and all the residents of Broken Wheel.  I identified with, sympathized with, was entertained by, and loved them all.  This book would be my recommendation for readers who loved Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt by beth Hoffman, A Man Called Ove by Frederick Backman, A redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg.  p.s.  Have your tissues ready for this one.  I mean this in the best way!             Christine        


Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143109396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 26th, 2016

Finnegan has a style of writing that is very readable.  He captures the essence of surf stoke in a way that is very true to the experience.  

Grover


Staff Pick Badge
The Good Girl: An Addictively Suspenseful and Gripping Thriller Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780778317760
Availability: Out of Stock. Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Mira Books - February 24th, 2015

The Good Girl

by: Mary Kubica

Intriguing with a plot twist. The ending was definitely the cherry on top, and goes to show that you can never truly judge a book by it's cover.  You don't really know a family until disaster hits and you don't always know a person like you thought.           Veronica


Staff Pick Badge
A Man Called Ove: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781476738024
Availability: Out of Stock. Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Washington Square Press - May 5th, 2015

A Man Called Ove

by Fredrik Backman
 
I don't know how to describe this book featuring a fisty curmudgeon called Ove without using the word charming.  I certainly didn't set out thinking that this person, so ridgid and set in his state of grumpy old-man-ness, would resonate with me like it did.  Watching this thorny guy thaw throughout the book (entirely without his intent or permission) was sweet and perfect.  I So recommend this debut novel by Swedish author Backman, and look forward to his next book "My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She's Sorry".            Christine


Staff Pick Badge
The Martian: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553418026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - October 28th, 2014

The Martian
by Andy Weir
 
Andy Weir's "Real" science fiction novel The Martian skips readable and amps to devourable in light seconds.  Stranded on Mars with limited food and water, Mark Watney could easily throw in the towel and O.D. on the morphine.  Someone as intelligent, resourceful and downright MacGyver-ish as he couldn't call it quits that easily though.  Hey! a major life-threatening upset crops up, solve it with ingenuity, recycled poopie and duct tape, just like you would (mostly) on Earth.  I don't usually like to use the term "Nail Biting" Suspense ( I thought I broke the habit years ago), but nails got bitten as the story roared along to a spectacular end.
Weir opened my eyes to a genre that was previously unfamiliar to me: He could "Fly me to the Moon" any time, just let me download some not so Disco music first.    -   Christine's Pick

 


A Course of Love: Combined Volume Cover Image
$27.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781584695035
Published: Take Heart Publications - September 1st, 2014

For the last 25 years, I have been reading a Course In Miracles in an attempt to understand and practice CIM.  A Course of Love continues CIM and it answers the questions I had about CIM immediately.  It opens the door wider for me.  I have just started it and I love it!                     Debby's Pick


Staff Pick Badge
Gone Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780307588371
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - April 22nd, 2014

OK, I admit it.  I like my books like some people like their food, spicy enough to cause a little bit of discomfort!  Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is hot with a side of jalapenos.  If you like a book that you have figured out in three chapter .. Don't Read this one.  This darkly compelling, twisty as hell book will keep you guessing to the very end.  It turns everything you think you know about dysfunctional characters on it's ear.  And if you are as intrigued by Gone Girl as much as I was, be sure to check out Flynn's other books; Dark Places and Sharp Objects.  You will not be disappointed.  Enjoy the Burn ...

Christine's Pick


Small Victories: Spotting Improbable Moments of Grace Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781594486296
Availability: Out of Stock. Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - November 10th, 2014

Gina's pick


The Girl on the Train: A Novel Cover Image
$9.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780735219755
Published: Riverhead Books - April 4th, 2017

The Girl on the Train

by Paula Hawkins

Read this for a bird's-eye view of one of the most unreliable narrators in recent fiction.  How do you trust a character when what you see is the bleary eyes of a black-out drunk?  Is she obsessively stalking or voyeuristically imagining what she is seeing?  Told from alternating viewpoints, the suspenseful story draws you in, unfolding very quickly to a satisfying conclusion you just may not have seen coming.

Christine's Pick