The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper Cover Image
Out of Stock - email or call for price 541-347-4111
Hard to Find - Not Available to Special Order

Staff Reviews


The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

by Phaedra Patrick

Arthur Pepper lives a life of sameness since his late wife Miriam's passing. Same routines, same clothing, same sadness.  Everything changes when he finds a charm bracelet in Miriam's belongings. Elephant, book, tiger, thimble... It's 8 charms each tell a part of the story of a life previously unknown to Arthur.  He sets out to learn more about a woman he thought he already knew so well.  With each charm, Arthur gets closer to understanding what made his beloved Miriam into the woman who chose him and a simpler, decidedly less glamorous life.  This heartfelt story is charmingly told, with real emotion, healing and humor. (What about a 69 year old man discovering the ease and comfort of a pair of electric-blue M.C. Hammer pants isn't really fun?!)                       Christine

— From Christine's Favorites

June 2016 Indie Next List


“Arthur Pepper has finally gotten around to cleaning out his deceased wife's clothes when he comes across her charm bracelet. He doesn't remember seeing it before, and the charms pique his curiosity about the life his wife led before they met. Thus begins an adventure that will have Arthur learning to embrace life more fully and becoming more present in the lives of those he cares about. Grab a seat and get lost in this charming read with characters you will cheer on, laugh with, and perhaps shed a tear for.”
— Lisa Fabiano (E), An Unlikely Story, Plainville, MA

Description


Look for Phaedra Patrick's newest perfectly charming read, The Secrets of Love Story Bridge.

"An endearing celebration of life." -RealSimple.com

Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove, this curiously charming debut follows a lovable widower and his life-changing adventure of love and self-discovery.

Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater vest, waters his fern, Frederica, and heads out to his garden.

But on the one-year anniversary of Miriam's death, something changes. Sorting through Miriam's possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he's never seen before. What follows is a surprising and unforgettable odyssey that takes Arthur from London to Paris and as far as India in an epic quest to find out the truth about his wife's secret life before they met--a journey that leads him to find hope and healing in the most unexpected places.

Featuring an unforgettable cast of characters with big hearts and irresistible flaws, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper is a joyous reminder of life's infinite possibilities.

Check out these other heartwarming stories from Phaedra Patrick.

The Library of Lost and Found
Rise and Shine Benedict Stone
Product Details
ISBN: 9780778319337
ISBN-10: 0778319334
Publisher: Mira Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 336
Language: English