Books You May Love!

Staff Pick Logo
Thrawn Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780345511270
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - April 11th, 2017

We had a tremendously successful author signing over last 4th of July weekend!  If you were unable to attend, we have autographed copies in stock now.  As always, we can arrange to have any of Mr. Zahn's novels personalized for you.  Just specify your request at check out when you order from our web site winterriverbooks.com.  The new Hardcover release of "Thrawn" (Star Wars) is available as well as all of his other novels including the popular "20th Anniversary: Heir to the Empire" which is in it's 2nd printing!  


Heir to the Empire: Star Wars Legends: The 20th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780345528292
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - September 6th, 2011

Adventures of the Soul: Journeys Through the Physical and Spiritual Dimensions Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781401947095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hay House - March 8th, 2016

Van Praagh's newest book is concise, easy to follow reminder of all we have read over the years about our spirituality and God.  Fans of "Course In Miracles" and "Course In Love" will find it says the same thing in a much simpler way.  I loved it ...very helpful!

Debby


Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143109396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 26th, 2016

Finnegan has a style of writing that is very readable.  He captures the essence of surf stoke in a way that is very true to the experience.  

Grover


Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One & Two: The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production Cover Image
$12.98
ISBN: 9781338099133
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - July 31st, 2016

Rowling continues Harry Potter's story with Drago's son and Harry's son attending Hogwarts.  The Script version is not as descriptive and leaves more to your imagination than her novels but it is still worth reading about the continuing saga!


Staff Pick Logo
The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492623441
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - January 19th, 2016

The Readers of Broken Wheel

by Katarina Bivald

I picked up this book intending to read just a few pages. It's description intrigued me!  A correspondence between two book lovers, a small town setting, quirky characters and a dilemma of epic proportions. Well, nearly 400 pages and four hours later I had read every word of it.  I never put the book down, even to drag my sleeve over the tears sliding down my face.  this gem is full of heart and humor, wit and some really good good recommendations.  I laughed, I cried, I fell in love with Sara, Amy and all the residents of Broken Wheel.  I identified with, sympathized with, was entertained by, and loved them all.  This book would be my recommendation for readers who loved Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt by beth Hoffman, A Man Called Ove by Frederick Backman, A redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg.  p.s.  Have your tissues ready for this one.  I mean this in the best way!             Christine        


Staff Pick Logo
The Good Girl: An Addictively Suspenseful and Gripping Thriller Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780778317760
Availability: Out of Stock. Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Mira Books - February 24th, 2015

The Good Girl

by: Mary Kubica

A suspenseful and twisty novel... the ending was definitely the cherry on the top, and goes to show that you can never judge a book by it's cover.  Also that this novel really showed the relationships of parents and their kin.  You don't really know a family until disaster hits and you don't always know a person like you thought.           Veronica


Staff Pick Logo
A Man Called Ove Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476738024
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Washington Square Press - May 5th, 2015

A Man Called Ove
by Fredrik Backman
 
I don't know how to describe this book featuring a fisty curmudgeon called Ove without using the word charming.  I certainly didn't set out thinking that this person, so ridgid and set in his state of grumpy old-man-ness, would resonate with me like it did.  Watching this thorny guy thaw throughout the book (entirely without his intent or permission) was sweet and perfect.  I So recommend this debut novel by Swedish author Backman, and look forward to his next book "My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She's Sorry".            Christine


Staff Pick Logo
The Martian Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780553418026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - October 28th, 2014

The Martian
by Andy Weir
Andy Weir's "Real" science fiction novel The Martian skips readable and amps to devourable in light seconds.  Stranded on Mars with limited food and water, Mark Watney could easily throw in the towel and O.D. on the morphine.  Someone as intelligent, resourceful and downright MacGyver-ish as he couldn't call it quits that easily though.  Hey! a major life-threatening upset crops up, solve it with ingenuity, recycled poopie and duct tape, just like you would (mostly) on Earth.  I don't usually like to use the term "Nail Biting" Suspense ( I thought I broke the habit years ago), but nails got bitten as the story roared along to a spectacular end.
Weir opened my eyes to a genre that was previously unfamiliar to me: He could "Fly me to the Moon" any time, just let me download some not so Disco music first.    -   Christine's Pick

 


A Course of Love: Combined Volume Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781584695035
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Take Heart Publications - September 1st, 2014

For the last 25 years, I have been reading a Course In Miracles in an attempt to understand and practice CIM.  A Course of Love continues CIM and it answers the questions I had about CIM immediately.  It opens the door wider for me.  I have just started it and I love it!                     Debby's Pick


Staff Pick Logo
Gone Girl Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780307588371
Availability: Out of Stock. Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Broadway Books - April 22nd, 2014

OK, I admit it.  I like my books like some people like their food, spicy enough to cause a little bit of discomfort!  Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is hot with a side of jalapenos.  If you like a book that you have figured out in three chapter .. Don't Read this one.  This darkly compelling, twisty as hell book will keep you guessing to the very end.  It turns everything you think you know about dysfunctional characters on it's ear.  And if you are as intrigued by Gone Girl as much as I was, be sure to check out Flynn's other books; Dark Places and Sharp Objects.  You will not be disappointed.  Enjoy the Burn ...

Christine's Pick


Small Victories: Spotting Improbable Moments of Grace Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781594486296
Availability: Out of Stock. Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - November 10th, 2014

Gina's pick


Staff Pick Logo
The Maze Runner Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780385737951
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - August 24th, 2010

Dashner did a good job creating a series that is fun for readers of all ages.  With a mix of self-discovery and self-assurance, we all have what it takes to survive anything.  You just have to want it bad enough.        Veronica's Pick


Staff Pick Logo
The Girl on the Train Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781594633669
Availability: Out of Stock. Usually Ships in 3-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - January 13th, 2015

The Girl on the Train

by Paula Hawkins

Read this for a bird's-eye view of one of the most unreliable narrators in recent fiction.  How do you trust a character when what you see is the bleary eyes of a black-out drunk?  Is she obsessively stalking or voyeuristically imagining what she is seeing?  Told from alternating viewpoints, the suspenseful story draws you in, unfolding very quickly to a satisfying conclusion you just may not have seen coming.

Christine's Pick


The Truth According to Us Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385342940
Availability: Out of Stock - Not Available to Special Order
Published: Dial Press - June 9th, 2015